Contests> Poetry International Prize

A prize of $1,000 and publication in Poetry International is given annually for a single poem. Our judge for 2015 is Carol Frost. Submit up to 3 poems with a $15 entry fee. You may submit additional poems for a $3 reading fee per poem. Please make checks payable to Poetry International or use our donate button below to pay your fees. The winner will be announced on our website in the fall of 2015.


We are pleased to accept submissions for our PI Prize through Submittable. Click here to submit.


Please mail your submissions to:


Poetry International Prize
Dept. of English and Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr. San Diego, CA 92182-6020




Please refer to our contest guidelines for more information.


A Note to Previous Poetry International Prize Contestants: You are welcome to enter this year's contest, whether or not you won a prize in the previous year.    





2014 award: Vicky Santiesteban

Congratulations to our 2014 winner, Vicky Santiesteban!  Her poem “The Heat Is” was chosen by Fady Judah and will be published in a future issue of Poetry International. Vicky Santiesteban also earned a $1000 cash prize!


2013 award: Mark Wagenaar

Congratulations to this year's winner, Mark Wagenaar, for his poem, "Migrations." Mark will receive $1000 and his poem will appear in a future edition of Poetry International. Kudos to finalists: Todd Fredson, "Waiting in Zraluo" and Jennie Panchy, "Envoi (acrostic.)" The amazing Valzhyna Mort was this year's judge.


2012 award: Nicole Sealey.  

Congratulations to our 2012 winner, Nicole Sealey!  Her poem "Imagine Sisyphus Happy" was chosen by Jericho Brown and will be published in a future issue of Poetry International. Nicole also earned a $1000 cash prize.


2011 award: Ellery J. Akers

Congratulations to the winner of the 2011 Poetry International Prize, Ellery J. Akers! Her poem, "Mud Lake," was chosen by judge Steve Kowit for a $1,000 prize and publication in an upcoming issue of Poetry International. Kowit called "Mud Lake" "an exquisite piece of work." Congratulations, Ellery!

2010 award: Rochelle Hurt  

Our winner is Rochelle Hurt, an MFA student at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Her poem, "Helen's Confession," was chosen by judge Bruce Boston for publication in an issue of Poetry International, and a $1000 cash prize.

2009 award: Rebekah Stout

Congratulations to Rebekah Stout, winner of the Poetry International Prize 2009! Stout's poems 'Midas' and 'In the Garden' will appear in Poetry International 17. Sandra Alcosser judged. Kudos to finalists Melissa Stein, Ann Struthers, Noreen Ayres, Sierra Nelson, and Michael Lee Phillips.

2008 award: Sasha Parmasad

Winner of Poetry International Prize for 2008 is Sasha Parmasad for her poem, Memory of Sugarcane-worker Off Duty. Ms. Parmasad has received the prize of $1000, and her poem will appear in the next issue of Poetry International.